International Conference on Sustainable Development

Jan 12, 2019

International Conference on Sustainable Development


Department of Economics, Manipal organized a Pre-Conference workshop on "Quality Publication and Research Funding" on January 10, 2019. The primary objective of the workshop is to introduce participants the importance of quality publication and various publication opportunities. The participants were also exposed to various funding agencies who fund the research projects of Social Sciences. The focus of the pre conference workshop was to create an awareness regarding publishing articles in at International level

This workshop was exclusively designed for delegates of the conference, research scholars and the faculty members in the areas of Finance, Social Sciences, Management and other areas. The number of participants was 50 comprising of participants, students of Economics, Finance and Commerce, Research Scholars and faculty members of MUJ and other universities also participated. Further, self - monitoring and feedback sessions were part of the workshop so that there were some takeaways both for the organizers and the participants, which could be worked into the format of future for greater customization and better delivery.


The Inaugural Session of Conference 11th January 2019


The Inaugural session was started by Sarasvati Vandana and lighting of Lamp as it is an expression of our own true nature - that is to embrace light and warmth. Light symbolizes knowledge, and darkness, ignorance. Knowledge is a lasting inner wealth by which all outer achievement can be accomplished. By lighting the lamp we bow to knowledge as the greatest of all forms of wealth. It was then followed by by Prof. N D Mathur, Director, SHSS followed by briefing about the conference by Dr. Oum Kumari, Convener. She welcomed all participants- Participants, Students, Research Scholars and Faculty members for the conference on "Sustainable Development". was delivered by Prof. Vijay Veer Singh, Chair- NITI Ayog followed by the address of chief Guest Prof. Vijay Shrotriya, Delhi School of Economics. Special Address was given by our guest by Dr Janaki Krishna, IPE Hyderabad, who spoke on the relevance of the theme of the conference. Presidential address was delivered by Prof. N N Sharma, Pro President, Manipal , he the for an International conference on Sustainable Development, which was the need of the hour. Prof. Kamath, Registrar Manipal also briefed about the progress of the university since 2011. Vote of Thanks was delivered by Dr Mahendra Parihar, Head of Economics Department.

Panel Discussion on "What Next? Pathways for Sustainable Development".

Date: 11.01.2019

Time: 12.15-1.15 pm

Venue: TSB Seminar Hall

Prof. Vidya Jain, Rajasthan University, Prof. N. D. Mathur, Director SHSS, MUJ, Prof. Singh, MNIT Jaipur, Prof. Chattopadhyay, Dean, School of Business and Commerce, Prof R K Sharma, Principal, College, Jaipur were the . Prof. N D Mathur was the Moderator. The discussion to be very fruitful and also enlightening for the participants and the audience. Panel Discussion was then followed by Lunch.

First Technical Session (2.30pm -3.30 pm)

Track I TSB Seminar Hall)

Theme: Financial Inclusion for Sustainable development

Chair: Prof. , IPE, Hyderabad

Co Chair: Prof. Vadera, Director, SBC

Total 10 papers were presented during this session 



Second Technical Session (3.30pm -5 pm)

Track II Room 219, IC

Theme: Energy and Sustainable Development

Chair: Dr Dipti Sharma, MNIT Jaipur

Co Chair: Dr Oum Kumari R, Manipal

Total 8 research papers on energy, transport and alternative forms of energy was discussed.

Third Technical Session (3.30pm -5 pm)

Track III: Education and Sustainable development

Chair: Dr Janaki Krishna, IPE Hyderabad

Co Chair: Prof Sharma, Parreek College Jaipur

Total 12 research papers were presented in this track.

Wrap up Session (5-5.30pm)

This session just session I, II and session III. The resource persons highlighted the key features of the papers presented in all the 3 sessions.

Our Team @ Manipal

Prof N D Mathur

Dr Mahendra Parihar

Dr. Shilpi Gupta

Dr Manas Roy

Dr. Aparna Makkar

Dr. Monika Mathur

Dr Poonam Mishra

Ms Minali Bannerji

Mr. Bhagwan Sahai